Registered Nurse First Assistant (RNFA Canada)

 

Registered Nurse First Assistant (RNFA)

The Registered Nurse First Assistant (RNFA) practices expanded perioperative nursing by providing assistance to the surgeon and surgical team to facilitate quality care of patients undergoing surgical procedures. The increasing complexity of surgery provides the RNFA, who has additional perioperative nursing education, with the opportunity to practice in collaboration with and at the direction of the surgeon. As of 2000, all provinces within Canada acknowledge that the RNFA role falls within the scope of nursing practice. RNFA practice falls under the umbrella of perioperative nursing and encompasses the preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative phases of the surgical experience.

Belonging to the Registered Nurse First Assistant Network of Canada provides RNFAs with:

  • A voice and vote on the ORNAC Board
  • Educational session(s) or workshops specific to RNFA practice at the ORNAC Conference
  • A means of communication with other RNFAs through the Forum on the ORNAC website
  • A chance to win the ORNAC conference registration fee, if you attend the ORNAC conference and RNFANC meeting at the conference.

 

RNFA Programs Currently Available in Canada


 

Related Links and Sources of Information

The ORNAC Standards for Perioperative Registered Nurses Practice, 12th edition, (May 2015). Section 1 – Practice Standards and Competencies For definitions for the RNFA, RNAA and Advanced Practice Nurses (CNS and NPs)

ORNAO RNFA Interest Group - www.rnfa-ontario.ca

Canadian Nurses Association(2008). Advanced Nursing Practice: A National Framework
www.cna-aiic.ca/en/~/media/nurseone/page-content/pdf-en/anp_national_framework_e

 

Canadian RNFA History

The term Registered Nurse First Assistant commonly referred to as a RN First Assistant or RNFA stems from the United States. The Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN) formally recognized the role in 1982 and Delaware County Community College, under the leadership of Jane Rothrock, offered the first formal RNFA program in 1985.

In 1994, ORNAC established a seven member "Advanced Practice" Committee whose focus was specifically the Perioperative Nurse - Surgery (PNS) and Perioperative Nurse – Anaesthesia (PNA) roles. The Advanced Practice Committee (ORNAC 1996) developed a blueprint for PNS curriculum development and defined the Perioperative Nurse Surgery as:

"The registered nurse with advanced perioperative nursing education and skills provides assistance during the surgical intervention under the direction of the surgeon. This role has separate responsibilities to that of the scrub role. The PNS collaborates with the surgical team to coordinate the care of the client throughout the perioperative period. This new perioperative role requires a different body of knowledge and skills than was previously required of the scrub nurse. PNS practice may vary depending on patient populations, practice environments, services provided, accessibility of human and fiscal resources, institutional policy and provincial regulations of nursing practice" (p. 17).

In November 2000 the PNS name was changed to Registered Nurse First Assistant by ORNAC as this terminology is recognized worldwide.

At the 2001 ORNAC meeting in Banff, Alberta during the RNFA information session an Ad Hoc committee was struck of RNFA representatives from most provinces. The objective of this committee was to seek affiliate status with ORNAC by the 2003 ORNAC conference in Winnipeg. In 2002 the committee re-named itself RNFA Network of Canada.


 

References

  • Advanced Practice Committee (1996). Blueprint for: Curricula Development For the Role of Perioperative Nurse Anesthesia(PNA) and Surgery(PNS). Canadian Operating Room Nursing Journal, 14(4), 16-20.
  • Operating Room Nurses Association of Canada (1995). Unpublished document: Perioperative Nurse - Anaesthesia (PNA) + Perioperative Nurse - Surgery (PNS).
  • Operating Room Nurses Association of Ontario (1994). Letter to all members outlining the expanded perioperative nursing practice roles, January 17, 1994.

 

To Top

Réseau des infirmières et infirmiers premiers assistants en chirurgie du Canada (RIPACC)

 

Infirmière et infirmier premier assistant en chirurgie (IPAC)

L’infirmière première assistante et l’infirmier autorisé premier assistant en chirurgie (IPAC) exercent des soins infirmiers périopératoires élargis en aidant le chirurgien et l’équipe chirurgicale afin d’améliorer la qualité des soins aux patients subissant des interventions chirurgicales. La complexité croissante de la chirurgie fournit aux IPAC possédant une formation supplémentaire en soins infirmiers périopératoires la possibilité de pratiquer en collaboration avec le chirurgien et sous sa direction. Depuis 2000, toutes les provinces du Canada reconnaissent que le rôle des IPAC relève du champ de la pratique infirmière. La pratique des IPAC s’inscrit dans le cadre des soins infirmiers périopératoires et regroupe les phases préopératoire, intraopératoire et postopératoire de l’expérience chirurgicale.

L’appartenance au Réseau des infirmières et infirmiers premiers assistants en chirurgie du Canada offre aux IPAC:

  • une voix et un vote au conseil d’administration de l’AIISOC;
  • des séances éducatives et des ateliers relatifs à la pratique particulière des IPAC pendant les congrès de l’AIISOC;
  • une façon de communiquer avec d’autres IPAC par l’intermédiaire du forum sur le site Web de l’AIISOC;
  • une chance de participer au tirage des droits d’inscription au congrès de l’AIISOC, si vous participez au congrès de l’AIISOC et à la réunion de la RIPACC pendant le congrès.

 

Programmes de formation au titre d'IPAC actuellement offerts au Canada


 

Liens connexes et sources de renseignements

Normes de l’AIISOC pour la pratique des soins infirmiers périopératoires, 12e édition (Mai 2015). Section 1 – Normes de pratique et compétences Pour obtenir les définitions des rôles des IPAC, des RNAA et des infirmières/infirmiers de pratique avancée (praticiennes/praticiens spécialisés)

Groupe d’intérêt des IPAC de l’ORNAO www.rnfa-ontario.ca

Association des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada (2008) Pratique avancée des soins infirmiers : Cadre de travail national
www.cna-aiic.ca/en/~/media/nurseone/page-content/pdf-en/anp_national_framework_e

 

Historique des IPAC au Canada

Le nom « infirmière/infirmier premier assistant en chirurgie», couramment désignés IPAC nous vient des États-Unis. L’AORN (Association of periOperative Registered Nurses) a officiellement reconnu le rôle en 1982 et le Delaware County Community College, sous la direction de Jane Rothrock, a offert le premier programme officiel à l’intention des IPAC en 1985.

En 1994, l’AIISOC a mis sur pied un comité de la « pratique avancée » composé de sept membres, axé spécifiquement sur les rôles de l’infirmière/infirmier en soins périopératoires en chirurgie (PNS) et de l’infirmière/infirmier en soins périopératoires en anesthésie (PNA). Le comité de la pratique avancée (AIISOC, 1996) a développé un plan d’action pour la construction du curriculum des PNS et défini le rôle de l’infirmière/infirmier en soins périopératoires en chirurgie de la façon suivante :

« L’infirmière/l’infirmier autorisé(e) possédant une formation et des compétences avancées en soins infirmiers périopératoires fournit de l’aide durant l’intervention chirurgicale, sous la direction du chirurgien. Les responsabilités associées à ce rôle sont différentes de celles de l’instrumentiste. Le ou la PNS collabore avec l’équipe chirurgicale pour coordonner les soins au client pendant toute la période périopératoire. Ce nouveau rôle périopératoire exige des connaissances et compétences différentes de celles qui étaient auparavant exigées des instrumentistes. La pratique des PNS peut varier selon les populations de patients, les milieux de pratique, les services offerts, l’accessibilité des ressources humaines et financières, les politiques institutionnelles et les règlements provinciaux associés à la pratique des soins infirmiers. » (p. 17)

En novembre 2000, l’appellation PNS a été modifiée à infirmière/infirmier premier assistant en chirurgie par l’AIISOC, puisque cette terminologie est reconnue à l’échelle mondiale.

Lors de la réunion de l’AIISOC tenue en 2001 à Banff, Alberta, durant la séance d’information des IPAC, un comité spécial de représentantes et représentants des IPAC de la plupart des provinces a été mis sur pied. L’objectif de ce comité était d’obtenir le statut de regroupement affilié de l’AIISOC d’ici la tenue du congrès 2003 de l’AIISOC à Winnipeg. En 2002, le comité s’est rebaptisé le Réseau des IPAC du Canada (RNFA Network of Canada).


 

Références

  • Comité de la pratique avancée (1996). Plan d’action : Construction d’un curriculum pour le rôle de l’infirmière/l’infirmier en soins périopératoires en anesthésie (PNA) et en chirurgie (PNS). Journal de l’Association des infirmières et infirmiers de salles d’opération du Canada, 14 (4), p. 16-20.
  • Association des infirmières et infirmiers de salles d'opération du Canada Document non publié : Perioperative Nurse - Anaesthesia (PNA) + Perioperative Nurse - Surgery (PNS).
  • Operating Room Nurses Association of Ontario (1994). Lettre aux membres relative à la pratique élargie des soins infirmiers périopératoires, 17 janvier 1994.

 

To Top