Apply for or renew your certification now!

If you’re ready to apply for or renew your certification, log in to Before doing so, you may want to learn more about the application process or renewal requirements.

Care to Be the Best

CNA certification is a nationally recognized nursing specialty credential for registered nurses. The first certification exam, offered in 1991, was in neuroscience nursing. Today, more than 17,000 RNs are CNA certified in one of 21 specialties (see breakdown by specialty and province/territory).

Certified RNs are…

  • Recognized nationally for their practice excellence and commitment to lifelong learning
  • Valued by employers, because their certification demonstrates specialized knowledge and brings many benefits to organizations
  • Viewed as having enhanced professional credibility

CNA certification news

  2018 poster 2018 brochure

Important dates


Initial or renewal by exam

 Application windowExam windowResults
Spring Jan. 10 – March 1 May 1 – 15 June
Fall June 1 – September 10  Nov. 1 – 15 Dec.

Renewal by continuous learning (CL)

 Application window
Renewal by CL Jan. 10 – Nov. 1

Please note: All certifications set to expire in 2018 are valid until December 31, 2018.

- See more at:

To Top